Skip to content

My Former Life as a Physicist

June 9, 2007

During the summer of 2002, I worked as a research assistant on an experimental high-energy physics project at SLAC: the Stanford Linear ACcelerator. I worked on the FLASH experiment (specifically the T-461 test) which sought to measure nitrogen flourescence in the presence of high-energy electrons. The purpose of this was mainly the callibration of air flourescence detectors for ultra high-energy cosmic rays.

I was thinking about this the other day and found the SLAC site on Google Maps. I made my own map of some points of interest from when I was there. I think I have some photos somewhere that I could post too, but I’ll have to go look for them. Here is the MAP (note: view the map in Satellite mode, otherwise you won’t see anything but the markers).

Update 6/26/07 —

I found the badge I was issued while working at SLAC, but can’t find any photos from when I was there. Note the Hawaiian shirt, which I no longer have, sadly.

SLAC Badge

From → personal, physics

2 Comments
  1. Hi Ben,

    I have a “google alert” for whenever “ultra high energy cosmic rays” makes the news. etc. And you made my daily hit! 🙂

    Cheers,
    Kevin

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ph.D. Defense « BrunoJ

Leave a Reply

