Skip to content

The Phone Broke My DSL

June 11, 2007

Lately (the past 3 days), the internet speed at my house has been dismally slow. Almost a factor of 5 slower than normal. I found some advice online, I’m fond of internet advice, to the effect that sometimes noisy phone sets and/or answering machines can cause line noise. Thus the modem slows down as the error rate goes up. So I tried unplugging our old land line phone which has in fact been acting up lately (not charging mainly), and presto! The interweb is back to its speedy self:

via Speakeasy (Chicago, IL Server)

Download Speed: 3390 kbps (423.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 647 kbps (80.9 KB/sec transfer rate)

update–

It’s 3/27/08 now, and I’m having internet problems again, so I thought I’d record my current bandwidth for posterity:

Download Speed: 1840 kbps (230 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 324 kbps (40.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

From → computers, technical

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

