Skip to content

Ph.D. Defense

June 26, 2007

During Defense, originally uploaded by brunoj.

I defended my Ph.D. dissertation on Friday. The title of my dissertation is:

On the Singular Chern Classes of Schubert Varieties via Small Resolution 

Above is a photo taken by Sarah at the end of the public talk portion of the defense.

Most of the topics I prepared in advance to explain about the talk and the dissertation weren’t asked about. I said some stupid things in the talk that my advisor called me on in the private portion of the defense, but it went well overall.

The outside chair on my thesis committee was a high energy experimental physicist. I asked him about the Fly’s Eye experiment and he knew several people involved, though mostly before my time as a physicist.

As for shameful self promotion, on the High Resolution Fly’s Eye Experiment website (linked above) there is a picture of me pretending to work on some electronics. I’m in the picture on the right, under the word “HiRes”, behind and to the right of a guy named Jeremy I used to work with.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

