Skip to content

Schwinn, 1967

July 1, 2007

Sketch of Schwinn, 1967 and Cart

When my road bike is in the shop, like this week, I ride my beater bike. Its a 1967 Schwinn (Delux Racer, I think). I love this bike. It can take a real beating and looks none the worse.

Schwinn, 1967

It weighs about 41 lbs (this is the factory spec.). Since I’ve had the bike I’ve changed the seat, added a rear blinking red light, and painted the frame and chain guard. I didn’t know what the bike was when my girlfriend bought it for me at a garage sale several years ago.

My million dollar idea of the week is to build a dog cart which attaches to the Schwinn (see the sketch above). The cart will have an umbrella for shade and 26″ mountain bike tires. I take my dog out quite often lately since my house is being sold. She a big dog, a Newfoundland. The cart would be perfect for taking her out of the immediate neighborhood quickly and easily on a hot summer day, say to a park, or to campus to find a tree to sit under. The cart would need some kind of built in harness to secure the Newf, otherwise she would likely jump out tipping the cart (and me) over.

From → bikes, photography

2 Comments

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I got fixed « BrunoJ
  2. 1967 Schwinn Delux Racer « BrunoJ

Leave a Reply

