Skip to content

AMS Notices Cover, March 2010

February 23, 2010

The cover of the American Mathematical Society’s monthly magazine ‘Notices’ reminded me of the header image I use on this blog. It turns out to be something very different, an image of the German Enigma machine converted to ASCII for mysterious effect.

In the magazine is a short article by Bill Casselman (whom I met in Salt Lake during graduate school and went hiking with) about 2D bar codes. These seem to be everywhere now. I didn’t realize the coding scheme was so involved, especially compared to ordinary bar codes which I taught as part of a course for freshmen my first semester at Georgia.

From → math, outside, people, utah

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

